Be a Supporter!

SkyeWintrestSkyeWintrest

Main News Movies Games Audio Favorites Reviews Stats 143 Fans
Follow SkyeWintrest

All 349 audio Reviews


Final Strike!! Final Strike!!

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars June 16, 2014

Hi. Want some review?

The Good:
-Dramatic, yes!
-Orchestra, yes!
-Great guitars in the opening.
-Fantastic breakdown at 0:52 and punchy sound at 1 minute. Overall stellar composition as always.
-Pretty good loop, though it seems like it's about to reach a climax rather than the beginning again. No sound glitches though.

The Not-So-Good, composition-wise:
-I think it could still have used a bit more of a breakdown in the middle, something without the constant drums. But, that's just me.

MIXING: Right, Step. I'm docking a full two points for this, because you said you did the final mix of the entire thing. I am seriously disappoint about this.
-The drumset is balls. The orchestral percussion is way more powerful than it, and it's buried under everything else, constantly.
-Similarly, the distorted guitar is entirely covered by everything except when it's playing primarily by itself, which is every time except sometimes in the intro and around 40 seconds in.
-Hell, even the strings are buried by the horns a lot of the time. Notable points about that are 0:25 and 1:05.

Overall: I don't care if you wanted it to be "the sum of its parts" or something, that mixing was just plain no. Ye dun clutterfucked the mix, and now it's muddy as hell. Otherwise, though, everything's basically cool, only little nitpicky stuff. 7/10 with the mixing, 9/10 otherwise.


People find this review helpful!
UltimateCJ64 responds:

"Hi. Want some review?"

Why yes I would! :D

"The Good:
-Dramatic, yes!
-Orchestra, yes!
-Great guitars in the opening.
-Fantastic breakdown at 0:52 and punchy sound at 1 minute. Overall stellar composition as always.
-Pretty good loop, though it seems like it's about to reach a climax rather than the beginning again. No sound glitches though."

Thankfully achieving most of what we were going for. And I see what you mean on the climax buildup. Could probably make a full song version out of this that adds a real beginning and ending.

"The Not-So-Good, composition-wise:
-I think it could still have used a bit more of a breakdown in the middle, something without the constant drums. But, that's just me."

Maybe, maybe not. It is going to be a song in a full-auto-mayhem action Contra/Metal Slug type game, if it isn't the game keeping up the action, it's the music. At least that's the plan. :)

"MIXING: Right, Step. I'm docking a full two points for this, because you said you did the final mix of the entire thing. I am seriously disappoint about this.
-The drumset is balls. The orchestral percussion is way more powerful than it, and it's buried under everything else, constantly.
-Similarly, the distorted guitar is entirely covered by everything except when it's playing primarily by itself, which is every time except sometimes in the intro and around 40 seconds in.
-Hell, even the strings are buried by the horns a lot of the time. Notable points about that are 0:25 and 1:05."

I agree the drumset is definitely balls. Sadly I don't have the money yet to buy a decent virtual kit. We didn't want the rock part to overpower the orchestra but I guess we went too far on that aspect. I personally don't know what happened with the orchestra half, but lessons learned I guess. :(

"Overall: I don't care if you wanted it to be "the sum of its parts" or something, that mixing was just plain no. Ye dun clutterfucked the mix, and now it's muddy as hell. Otherwise, though, everything's basically cool, only little nitpicky stuff. 7/10 with the mixing, 9/10 otherwise."

Yeah, the mix definitely could be better, but with the final product being much better recepted (received?) than my horrible mixing on my solo works, I can't complain too much.

Thanks for the review, I appreciate it a lot, definitely one of the more helpful. :)


riding the harmonics riding the harmonics

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 27, 2014

>Doesn't really have sound design
>drums

The Good:
-Oh come on, those drums are badass and well-done. That's some sweet drum design. How are drums not sound?
-Awesome, starting with drums rather than a synth or pad coming in slowly. I need to do more intros which are something other than atmosphere pad thing.
-Liking your synth sounds.
-Great outro!

The Not-So-Good:
-I think your bass is a bit too loud. Not sure if that's the goal, but it makes the kick lack as much thump.
-...okay, dude, you might want to lay off the glitch sounds a bit. They're an effect, but they're not as effective in that way. Also, obvious use of the automatic glitcher VST is obvious. Make yer own glitches, ye lazy bom :P
-Great outro... until the 2:59 chord. :< Total wreck of flow at the end. I guess it works kinda, it makes sense harmonically, I just don't particularly think it works with that execution, and having a bit of foreshadowing in the song would also be great.

Overall: I've not got much time, but there are some of my comments. Good job! Oh, also, you still need to try out some different synths. Not just slightly different, not just another electronic lead and stuff, try something that sounds ENTIRELY different. Make... hmm, how about some smooth jazz with mouth percussion, a clavinet/rhodes combo, and maybe try to get some live guitar or other wacky sounds in there? :D A lead made of chopped vocals, maybe?


johnfn responds:

Ehh I don't really consider drums to be sound 'design' because I didn't really design them. More like sound choice. :P

I might do more work with glitches someday but really my top focus is melodies. Which leads to my next question: how did you write this entire review and not mention melodies AT ALL? Melodies are like 95% of this piece lol.

Anyway thanks for the review. I feel like I'm on the verge of a big style transition and it's probably at least a little your fault for complaining so much about sound choices lolz.


the seas will forget your name the seas will forget your name

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 22, 2014

So... how's a review sound? Hopefully as good as the song.

The Good:
-Great arpeggios in this, like pretty much always.
-Pretty solid mixing in most areas.
-Excellent use of reverb in the leads, at 1:20 and
-Good chord progression.
-I love the drums at 4 minutes. Love love love love love this entire section, actually. The background sounds are really solid too.

The Not-So-Good:
-Muh slow progression. Dear lord this is a long song. Not because of the actual time length, but because of how it flows. This might be more of a pet peeve, but it takes two minutes and forty seconds for a serious buildup to happen, and a full three minutes before the climax. On the plus side, the climax itself doesn't feel too short. That's good.
-I uh. I don't understand why you have the glitches at 0:44. All I can think of is "filler", since you do it there and then glitch sounds never appear again in this song. EVER.
-Dude. The same background arp goes on for 5 whole minutes without stopping. I know it goes up an octave at the climax, but holy crap. Repetition has its place, but there *is* a point where you're overdoing it.
-Kick drum at 1:52. Oh my god. I couldn't keep from laughing at that point - you really need to use a better kick drum for this. Something more solid, without as much of a decaying bass sound. ...especially without the cut-off ending. Something more thumpy and solid would have been great - maybe combine the normal hit of a kick drum with a sub-bass to get the depth of it. Then you can also modulate the length of the sub part.
-Speaking of the kick drum, it kinda gets buried under the big plucking you have at 2:40. Unless you don't have it at all. It feels like you did.
-Around the point where the kick drum feels buried, the mix gets pretty strained right before the actual climax.
-It feels like the piano at the end is too swamped in reverb. I think it could have used a bit more definition and a fuller sound.
-Part of me likes what you did with the ending, most of me is really unhappy that there was no resolution of the chord at the end. :( Probably a personal thing, the ending as-is could work.

Overall: Good, good as always, but a pretty decent amount of things to work on. Some of them aren't exactly small either, like the eternal arpeggio.


People find this review helpful!

Air Ripples Air Ripples

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 21, 2014

'sup, might as well leave this review.

Good stuff:
-Fantastic progression at the beginning. So fitting of your style, and a great way to introduce the chords, using arpeggios with all shared tones.
-That transition at 1:16 is REALLY good. One of the best transitions I've heard, even. I think the drums leading back in could be improved a bit, they sound a bit sloppy. I'm not sure how to fix this, honestly. Maybe try using a lowpass filter and raising the cutoff in a curve that's concave down.
-Tempo stuff at 2:00 is sweet. I wasn't expecting it in the first place, and I'm impressed that you managed to pull it off. Tempo modulation is a lot trickier than other modulation.
-Another good transition at 3:09, though not *quite* as good as the one at 1:16.
-Excellent use of reverb and gating at the end, though the gating feels a little bit harsh. It sounds really cool as an ending.
-I like those little

Composition issues:
-Not sure the tempo change at 3:20 works as well. It feels a bit more like filler time, I think things could have gone just as well without it.
-Good as the ending is, I wish it could have had more of a conclusion rather than being more of a fadeout. Better fadeout than most, but still a fadeout.

Mixing mistakes:
-The cool little synth from the very beginning is a bit buried under the strings by 0:40.
-Aaaaaaaaaaaa drums at 1:51 burying things!
-Sounds like there's a bit of clipping or something at about 4:02, probably from the bass. If you're not using a limiter, it would help a lot.

Overall: Excellent. I like it. Your composition has come a long way, and your use of effects has just enhanced that.



After Us (updated) After Us (updated)

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 20, 2014

Well, here. I can give some brutal honesty. Initiate full improvement-based review.

-Biggest thing is that most of the instruments sound like they were recorded inside a small room. This is one piece which could really benefit from some reverb. The initial sound at about 10 seconds in doesn't, but the guitars certainly do. Use a bit of stereo widening and wider reverb.
-Strings are meh IMO. They're definitely better than a lot of strings I hear from early composers, but they can be improved.
-Horns can DEFINITELY use some improvement, though they're decent for a free library.
-A bit more clarity in the mids of the mix would go a long way.
-The birds seem a bit disconnected by the end.
-For some reason, the way the piece is organized just doesn't "click" for me. This is more a personal peeve, but the entire thing seems a bit underwhelming and 'weak'. The weakness is in part due to instruments being a bit overly thin, but otherwise the melodies seem like something you came up with on the spot rather than being something put together REALLY well. This seems to mainly be made up of chord progression, which is very difficult to do well.

Alright, brutal honesty mode over.

Seeing you've played music before, I can understand some of your skill with composition - it's good, too. Always refreshing to see a new artist who's paid attention to how music works. Your mixing is fantastic for just starting out. So is your use of many instruments. There are definitely things to touch up on, but this is still very good.

(also, keep going, say hello - I'll try to drop one of my more normally-formatted reviews on a track or two of yours, if you want)


People find this review helpful!
Thonz responds:

This is exactly the kind of review I'm hoping to get. As much as I like to hear compliments and people liking my music, these reviews are the ones that are truly valuable and actually help me improve. I really appreciate you took the time to review my piece with such detail.

I agree with everything you said. Particularly the fact that it sounds weak especially at the biggest orchestral moment has bothered me since I uploaded this. I improved it a lot, but it still isn't right. I just don't really know how to fix it. I've tried improving it further but everything I try just seems to make it worse. I think I got a bit overly ambitious trying to make a big orchestral piece out of this with so little experience, but I do have to start somewhere.

Thank you!


impossible battle impossible battle

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 18, 2014

Hi. Want a review?

The Good:
-Oh man, that percussion sounds bleh at first, the high hats are kinda generic, but then it has some of those other really cool sounds. That's great.
-Initial arpeggios are great.
-Cool bitcrushing at 2:04 and the other spots where you do the same thing.
-Good background atmosphere after about 1:39. I really like the arpeggios and the backing pads.
-Sweet reverb on the kick in some spots, I love the bassy thump along with the higher-pitched hiss.
-Transitions are excellent.

The Not-So-Good:
-Dude, use a different lead. Like the vocal one in soar. That was cool. You have the flutey thing, but you have that saw lead in pretty much ALL of your music. ;_;
-This doesn't really sound like a battle very much to me, tbh. I mean, I could see it, but it's a bit too laid-back and sparse in the frequencies for that. This is definitely more of a personal quibble.
-Cut off ending, sounds like the full thing didn't export. Though, it was winding down so there was /some/ conclusion.
-Climax at 1:40 and 3:01 both seem like they're too short. I mean hell, it's only 15-18 seconds. Not enough to really get into the climax. Already gone by the time you get into it. If there were a more gradual buildup, this would be a bit better. (also yes, I know that I do this kind of thing a lot too :<)

MIX/MASTER PROBLEM LIST:
-0:40 to 1:13. The lead is pushing most everything else back. This is a minor issue, but definitely something which could be improved.
-1:40-1:55, not sure if you meant for the backgroud panning pads to be buried in the arpeggios so they're not very audible. Also, the backgroud percussion is buried almost entirely. The high-hat suffers a lot from this, and that's the smallest effect.
-Bitcrushing sounds like there's a bit of clipping from it.
-Snare is weak. It's often buried and just doesn't really have any weight or power behind it, even for being mainly high-frequencies. Compared to the kick, it's practically not even there.
-3:01-3:18 makes the problems at 1:40-1:55 seem small. This part buries both aspects almost entirely.

Overall: Cool song. I like it. Definitely more unique, the mixing/mastering issues are the biggest problems IMO.


People find this review helpful!
johnfn responds:

Lol so first of all I can't believe that of ALL the songs I've done since NGADM you chose THIS one to review. I consider this one to be in my bottom 25% haha. I mean I still think it's cool (or else I wouldn't have uploaded it at all), but I've done much better work imho... I appreciate the review regardless. Possibly I'm learning more from your review because there are more errors to pick up on though...

> hats

Yes! APRIL IS DRUM MONTH AND YOU KNOW WHAT THAT MEANS, GENERIC HI HATS!!

> -Sweet reverb on the kick in some spots, I love the bassy thump along with the higher-pitched hiss.

Lol yeah I was like "I'm tired of putting reverb on crashes, what else can I reverb? Hmm.. I know! KICKS"

> Dude, use a different lead

May will be sound design month I hope. I keep pushing it off. I agree I need new leads though lolz but I don't listen to a lot of electro so I don't exactly know what else to do haha

> -This doesn't really sound like a battle very much to me, tbh. I mean, I could see it, but it's a bit too laid-back and sparse in the frequencies for that. This is definitely more of a personal quibble.

I think the climaxes do, but I definitely made them a little too spread out oops. The rest of it is not very intense lolz.

> (also yes, I know that I do this kind of thing a lot too :<)

Lol yeah I can't keep up intensity for very long. I do have this issue a lot.

> MIX/MASTER PROBLEM LIST:

This is new! :O

> -0:40 to 1:13. The lead is pushing most everything else back. This is a minor issue, but definitely something which could be improved.

Goodbye arps ;.; I'm actually not sure if this is even fixable aside from pushing the arps up higher... It's a really good catch though, I didn't even notice :X :X

> -3:01-3:18 makes the problems at 1:40-1:55 seem small

Oops I forgot to copy and paste the mix fixes I made on 1:40. YES I AM VERY LAZY DON'T JUDGE ME

> -Bitcrushing sounds like there's a bit of clipping from it.

I dunno, I think that's just what bitcrushing sounds like ^_^ I could fix that though

> -Snare is weak

Definitely one of the biggest problems with the mix imo. I never make my snares loud enough.

Thanks for the review dawggg. Though next time review one of my better songs so you can make me feel better about myself. hahaha nah jk do whatever you want


the fight the fight

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 10, 2013

Hello. Right, time for a review which I'll put in anyway. 's the least I can do.

The Good:
-Right, elephant in the room first. Holy shit those glitch FX are amazing. I particularly like the ones toward the end. I'll put in the numbers. 3:05, 3:25, 3:32 (though this sounded like you just copied the last one), 3:39, 3:46, 3:49, 3:51, 3:59, 4:05. I'd love to know how you made them.
-Plenty of cool harmonic lines which are nice, particularly the ones made by glitch/whatever FX after 3:39.
-Good main theme, though it might be a bit overused.
-Mixing's excellent as it almost always is.

The Not-So-Good:
-Okay, this isn't going to sound nice, but the intro is kinda really boring until 1:02, and then boring again from 1:16-1:43. The background is just... dull. Pretty much the same exact pattern, with barely any color or movement to it. It just kinda sits there.
-This brings me to my next point: Your instruments. Your drums sound like the same drums you typically use along with the same kind of breakbeat, so nothing much new there and that hits you for me. Same goes for some of your instruments, your lead hasn't really changed much at all.
-Ending is meh. Nothing interesting to speak of, and it's particularly disappointing after the last minute and a half of awesome sound effects. As it is, it sounds like you just got lazy and were like "whatever I might as well just stop working, fuck making a decent ending". ...this is going to sound kinda mean too, I guess - but honestly, the end does feel like you put in an extreme lack of effort or care. Ending a pattern and just letting delay fade out is lazy as hell and I KNOW you can do better than that.

Overall: 's really good and all, but man. I feel like you recycled about half of this from earlier songs, which makes me feel less happy about the whole thing. :( Other than that, it's excellent and I love it and I'm absolutely downloading and going to put it on one of my "I love this music" CDs.


johnfn responds:

> recycled ideas from other songs

I think you hit the nail on the head here. The truth is that this NGADM round followed so rapidly after the previous one (and I had such little time outside of composition) that I flat out ran out of time to find any new inspiration, and kinda had to dig back into the older inspirations I used to use. During NGADM3 I got to dig into some fun new vg music, and for NGADM5 I was listening to some nice jazz (both of which are 1000% evident in my music) but it felt like I started writing this piece literally just as I closed my NGADM5 project folder.

It actually kinda makes me feel like the gap between final NGADMs should be a tad longer. I missed the week long gaps we used to have.

> Glitch fx

So you actually want to know how I made EACH of my glitch fx huh bub? And you think I wouldn't be giving away my special sauce or anything?

...Oh alright.

I actually wanted to do a lot more, but they ended up taking a LOT of work to get to be just right. Like on the order of 5 hours just for that 15 second section. :X :X

3:05: This is a single synth note, give it a lot of reverb and delay, automate the cutoff up and use a grain delay to bring the pitch down.
3:25/3:32: This one was complicated. Basically I took some pad, played some weird extended chord, downloaded dblue glitch, set it on repeat and adjusted the settings until it sounded cool like it was slowing down. I bounced that to audio. Then I took some snare hit and did the same thing. Then I put some synth note much lower and brought the filter up aggressively and compressed it and boosted the bass on the eq.
The rest are a combination of automating the depth of a bitcrusher and going crazy with the repeater of the glitch vst.

> but the intro is kinda really boring until

Honestly this is the most interesting part of this review, because initially I didn't agree with it at all. After some relistens and some comparisons to classic chip pieces though (also Steampianists' thing, lol) I see where you're coming from. This is definitely something I'll need to keep in mind.

> ending

We've always sorta disagreed over what constitutes a proper ending to a song, but yeah I could have easily done more here with glitch and stuff.

> in summary

You clearly couldn't restrain yourself from being hyper critical but I wouldn't have it any other way. :)


A Weirdo's Gigue A Weirdo's Gigue

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 10, 2013

Hi there! Right, time for a review which I'll put in anyway. 's the least I can do.

The Good:
-Welp, I'm totally a weirdo because I was tapping my foot through the entire thing. That funky, almost "underwater" percussion is excellent.
-I love all the countermelodies and harmonic lines you have going throughout this. They complement the main idea in a really jazzy way, which is excellent. Syncopation is cool.
-Overall composition is excellent, all of the ideas flow smoothly into each other and there are some nice hark-backs to the main idea with some variation.
-Even with the default FL samples, you managed to make it sound excellent and professional. Guess nobody can really say that FL samples are shit anymore, eh?
-Transitions are excellent. The one at 0:28 is excellent, it really ramps up into the main theme excellently.
-Mixing is excellent, I can hear everything clearly.

The Not-So-Good:
-Man, to be honest the only somewhat-major gripe I have about this is that the ending is kinda lame. It's pretty sudden and a bit lackluster, though it's not necessarily bad.
-Only other thing I have about this is that the main leads kinda stab through a bit and feel a bit too harsh, though this is extremely minor.

Overall: God damn man, how did you do this in 2 weeks? It's excellent. Great job!


steampianist responds:

well still happy to see a review from you thanks skye

-Even with the default FL samples, you managed to make it sound excellent and professional. Guess nobody can really say that FL samples are shit anymore, eh?

Hell yeah!! im sick of people complaining about fl studio. this track is a message yo!!


Statiq Statiq

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 1, 2013

I know this was made a long time ago, and you probably aren't going to notice a review on a piece of music that's so old, but I just wanted to say this.

This music is extremely powerful and moving to me. It brings two things to mind.

First, I see a man. He is standing in a flat wasteland, perhaps the center of a city which was devastated by World War 3, hit by many nuclear bombs and flattened by the blasts. He looks up at the sky, wondering how he survived this long, what he'll do now, if there's any point to civilization if it just self-destructs.
And in the sky, the meteors fall, streaking across the sky like bloody tears from the wound caused by the wars.

The other interpretation is similar, but on a more mental aspect. It reminds me of the time in my life when I was seriously depressed. The main synth sounds hollow, kinda 'gray' due to the "statiq"-y distortion. Life with depression felt gray in a similar way. The sound effects just add to the 'empty' and gray feeling of it. The constant background percussion is akin to the repetitiveness of each and every day, along with how long they felt. The falling synth depicts the little hopes and happiness, falling down from the onslaught of infinite repetition and dull gray. Finally, the static increases and the song, or the depressed one's life, winks out.

I'm glad I didn't wink out like that, that I transitioned out of that time, and that my life's song is still playing, with a happier time. I still remember it though, and I think that reflects in a lot of my music.

Either way though... thank you. Thank you for making this piece, which so clearly represents something so integral and important to my personality and life.



Graveyard Shenanigans Graveyard Shenanigans

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 23, 2013

flaming frankfurters

The Good:
-That title is hilarious. It's perfect for what you intended.
-This has some of the most excellent composition I've heard from you. It has good ideas, the ideas flow together, they're used together and repeat throughout in varying forms which are still clear. Fantastic.
-I might have commented on this before, but whatever. I love how you use instruments which would normally be called 'lower-quality', and practically flaunt them in the face of people saying "pfft, you think these are bad? toasted trilobites, you're thick as a watermelon" by using them in such a unique and awesome way. Also your effects are awesome.
-I love some of the little details, such as about 0:43-0:52 where you use the little rattling sounds. Reminds me of skeletons. Similar detail in the pizzicatto arpeggios at 1:14-1:32.
-Loving that cool slick violin-ish sound at 1:42-2:00.
-Mixing is good.

The Not-So-Good:
-Okay, as much as I love your effects, you're using them a bit too much at this point. I hear them, you don't have to push them into my face over and over.
-Couple transitions that I feel are weaker than others and transitions you've used previously: 2:00 for the abruptness, 3:04 partially because the climax seems a bit overly drawn-out and uninspired as well as the transition being a bit weak, the ending because it's simply very weak.

Overall: Score of 9.4/10. This is excellent. I don't have much bad to say about this. The transitions are a pet peeve of mine though, and the effects are seriously used waaaay too much, they don't quite seem to work as percussively as you used them.


steampianist responds:

hehe yeah i think i made it clear that this is my signature sound :)

thanks for the review skye glad you like the violin solo of "edirol"